In 1892, John and Patrick Cudahy and their wives deeded the Cudahy Train Depot land was deeded to the Northwestern Railroad. The railroad built the Depot in 1893, at which time it consisted of men’s and women’s waiting rooms, a telegrapher’s office, and an attic for storage. The depot was constructed of hand-hewn timbers with hardwood floors and oak planking nearly a foot wide. The railroad honored Cudahy by making a special stop at his packing plant at 8:00 a.m. daily, so that the “boss” would not have to walk the short distance from the depot. The building currently enjoys historic status at the county, state, and national levels.
Visitors to the Cudahy Train Depot and Cudahy Historical Society will experience a trip back in time in the beautiful, fully renovated train depot. Artifacts of old Cudahy are on display throughout the building, with a museum filled with antique staged booths in the old freight room of the train station. Knowledgeable docents will be on hand to answer questions as guests make their way through the building on a self-guided tour.