This 1887 cream city brick schoolhouse in the Greenfield township was erected on the site of the first brick Honey Creek School (1855). The schoolhouse, which combined both grade and high school, features a bell tower that was reconstructed in 1973. This building became part of the West Allis school system in 1902 and boasted a grade school until 1923. It was then utilized by the city as a home for various organizations, including civil air patrol, the forestry department, and West Allis Hospital planning offices. Since 1966, Garfield school has been home to the West Allis Historical Society Museum.
Visit this charming old schoolhouse and explore a 1900’s dental office, tool room, pioneer room, general store and blacksmith shop. Ring the school bell and vote on an early 1940’s voting machine. View the schoolhouse’s extensive doll collection and an exhibit dedicated to the industry that once defined the area.