2015 LIST OF BUILDINGS

Saturday, September 19th and Sunday, September 20th, 2015      10 a.m.-5 p.m.

Make your own itinerary. Start when and where you like. No tickets necessary. Visits to any of the buildings and sites below are free of charge. Free guided tours are often available. Many buildings and sites will be open for the entire DOORS OPEN MILWAUKEE event. Others have restricted hours. Look for the DOORS OPEN MILWAUKEE banner near the building entrances on September 19th and 20th, 2015. Note: Like all sites, museums are free, unless otherwise described.

This list will be updated monthly until the event, so be sure to check back periodically for new additions.

Region
Accessibility
Area of Interest

Date

Time

Region

Accessibility

Photography

Area of Interest

Spotlight Neighborhood

Accessing the site

Falcon-Bowl-Exterior

Falcon Bowl — LATE ADDITION!

drzwi Otwartych (Doors Open) Milwaukee!

Home to Nest 725 of the Polish Falcons, a 125-year-old fraternal organization with the mission to promote physical fitness within the Polish community, while providing meaningful support for the wellbeing and welfare of Polish-American families, there is no better way to accomplish that mission in Milwaukee than with bowling. Falcon Bowl has six wood lanes — some of the oldest sanctioned lanes in the nation — in the basement dating back to 1913, and the building that houses them is even older. Visitors will also be able to check out the vintage bar area and the old-fashioned dance hall as well. It doesn’t get more Milwaukee than this.

 

Home to Nest 725 of the Polish Falcons, a 125-year-old fraternal organization with the mission to promote physical fitness within the Polish community, while providing meaningful support for the wellbeing and welfare of Polish-American families, there is no better way to accomplish that mission in Milwaukee than with bowling. Falcon Bowl has six wood lanes — some of the oldest sanctioned lanes in the nation — in the basement dating back to 1913, and the building that houses them is even older. Visitors will also be able to check out the vintage bar and the old-fashioned dance hall as well. It doesn’t get more Milwaukee than this.

FB St joseph Academy UK3A5856

St. Joseph Academy

St. Joseph Academy’s sponsoring organization, the Felician Sisters, is a champion of compassionate care for the Milwaukee community since 1907. The Sisters first created an orphanage to provide a home for children whose parents were deceased or needed childcare while their parents worked, just as our first Sisters in Poland ministered to the orphans of nineteenth-century Warsaw. Over time, their services expanded to meet the changing needs of south-side families. When the number of working families grew in the 1960s, the Sisters opened a daycare center and closed the orphanage. In 1999 we moved to our current site, formerly St. Gerard’s Parish and School, built in 1926, and expanded our services to include infants. Today, we provide extraordinary care and education for children from the age of six weeks through the fifth grade, and collaborate with others to educate children to be successful life-long learners and problem solvers.

 

Our debut as a Doors Open Milwaukee site doubles as our Open House to celebrate St. Joseph Academy’s new elementary school addition. Felician Sisters and others will provide guided tours every 30 minutes from 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. both days, and describe the ministry’s Spirit-led evolution from an orphanage to a child development center and Milwaukee Parental Choice School. Come see our new classrooms or visit our new library. Kids of all ages may also enter a free-throw shooting contest in the new gym. Whether you have a tie to the former orphanage, are a former St. Gerard’s parishioner or are simply curious about our amazing transformation over the past century, you’ll want to walk our halls and hear the grace-filled stories our Felician Sisters will share with you. Light refreshments will be served.

St. Joseph Academy’s sponsoring organization, the Felician Sisters, is a champion of compassionate care for the Milwaukee community since 1907. The Sisters first created an orphanage to provide a home for children whose parents were deceased or needed childcare while their parents worked, just as our first Sisters in Poland ministered to the orphans of nineteenth-century Warsaw. Over time, their services expanded to meet the changing needs of south-side families. Our debut as a Doors Open Milwaukee site doubles as our Open House to celebrate St. Joseph Academy’s new elementary school addition. Felician Sisters and others will provide guided tours every 30 minutes from 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. both days, and describe the ministry’s Spirit-led evolution from an orphanage to a child development center and Milwaukee Parental Choice School. Come see our new classrooms or visit our new library. Kids of all ages may also enter a free-throw shooting contest in the new gym. Whether you have a tie to the former orphanage, are a former St. Gerard’s parishioner or are simply curious about our amazing transformation over the past century, you’ll want to walk our halls and hear the grace-filled stories our Felician Sisters will share with you. Light refreshments will be served.

West Side
600-EAST-After-low-res

600 East Wisconsin Building

Built in 1913 by architects Schnetzky & Sons for the Milwaukee Gas Light Company, 600 EAST Wisconsin was renovated by its current owner, Dan Nelson, Jr., to house his marketing agency, Nelson Schmidt Inc., on the second and third floors (2006) and to reintroduce retail at street level to the east end of Wisconsin Avenue with the 600 EAST Café & Business Center (2014). The brick, steel and wood construction has been fully exposed on the interior using dry ice blasting to restore the materials to their original condition.

Visitors are welcomed to visit the new 600 EAST Café & Business Center and examine the exposed architectural features in one of the few 3-story buildings on E. Wisconsin Avenue remaining from the early-1900s. All while enjoying a cup of coffee, breakfast or lunch and perusing several historical large-format photographs of the building and Milwaukee’s Central Business District. Exquisitely restored “Chicago Pink” brick, massive steel beam superstructure, and old-growth forest wooden floor joists create an inviting environment for Doors Open visitors to take a look at Milwaukee’s past and present.

Built in 1913 by architects Schnetzky & Sons for the Milwaukee Gas Light Company, 600 EAST Wisconsin was renovated by its current owner, Dan Nelson, Jr., to house his marketing agency, Nelson Schmidt Inc., on the second and third floors (2006) and to reintroduce retail at street level to the east end of Wisconsin Avenue with the 600 EAST Café & Business Center (2014).
Visitors are welcomed to visit the new 600 EAST Café & Business Center and examine the exposed architectural features in one of the few 3-story buildings on E. Wisconsin Avenue remaining from the early-1900s. All while enjoying a cup of coffee, breakfast or lunch and perusing several historical large-format photographs of the building and Milwaukee’s Central Business District. Exquisitely restored “Chicago Pink” brick, massive steel beam superstructure, and old-growth forest wooden floor joists create an inviting environment for Doors Open visitors to take a look at Milwaukee’s past and present.

Plunkett Raysich Architects

Plunkett Raysich Architects, LLP Headquarters

Plunkett Raysich Architects found a home for their headquarters in the Walkers Point neighborhood. Celebrating their 80th anniversary and returning to downtown Milwaukee, they have created an open office for collaboration and flexibility. There are several sustainable features of the building including solatubes that fill the space with natural light. The firm also designed the new public plaza to the north of the building.

Visitors can wander through the office and see how a homegrown Milwaukee architecture firm works. There will be displays of projects, an interactive design area and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!

Plunkett Raysich Architects found a home for their headquarters in the Walkers Point neighborhood. Celebrating their 80th anniversary and returning to downtown Milwaukee, they have created an open office for collaboration and flexibility. There are several sustainable features of the building including solatubes that fill the space with natural light. The firm also designed the new public plaza to the north of the building. Visitors can wander through the office and see how a homegrown Milwaukee architecture firm works. There will be displays of projects, an interactive design area and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!

st marcus

St. Marcus Lutheran Church

St. Marcus Lutheran Church’s sanctuary was designed by Leiser & Holst architects, masonry by Gustave Jeske & Sons. It was completed in 1914. It is designed in the Neo-Gothic style popular in the Midwest from 1900-1930, drawing inspiration from the English interpretations of the Gothic style. You can see hints of a castle in the crenellations atop the two towers. The interior design follows more of the German Gothic style. The elaborate altar was carved in Milwaukee in 1905 by the Hann-Wangerin Co. and originally stood in St. Jacobi Lutheran Church on 13th & Mitchell. It was installed at St. Marcus in 1997. It features the ascending Christ, attended by four cherubs and eleven apostles.

The pipe organ began as a smaller instrument built by Milwaukee organbuilder William Schuelke in the 1881 church. It was enlarged in 1914 by the Weickhardt Co. in Milwaukee and enlarged again by Peters & Weiland in 1998. The educational wings, including the church Atrium and café, were added in 2003, 2011, and 2013. Visitors to St. Marcus on Saturday will have the opportunity for short, guided tours, which will include St. Marcus Lutheran School.

SATURDAY’S ACTIVITIES DURING DOORS OPEN

Saturday’s activities: (Tours & Art Gallery on display throughout the day) 10 a.m. — Coffee served in the café; 10:15 a.m. — Gospel Choir concert in the sanctuary; 11 a.m. — Pipe organ & cello recital; 11:30-1:00 pm —Lunch served in the café; 1 p.m. — John Gurda lecture on “The History of Brewers Hill” in the sanctuary; 2 p.m. — Joyful Noise Choir concert in the sanctuary; 2:45 p.m. — Rev. Mark Jeske lecture: The art of Heinrich Hofmann and the stained glass of St. Marcus; 4 p.m. — Pipe organ recital

St. Marcus Lutheran Church’s sanctuary was designed by Leiser & Holst architects, masonry by Gustave Jeske & Sons. It was completed in 1914. It is designed in the Neo-Gothic style popular in the Midwest from 1900-1930, drawing inspiration from the English interpretations of the Gothic style. The elaborate altar was carved in Milwaukee in 1905 by the Hann-Wangerin Co. and originally stood in St. Jacobi Lutheran Church on 13th & Mitchell. It was installed at St. Marcus in 1997. The pipe organ began as a smaller instrument built by Milwaukee organbuilder William Schuelke in the 1881 church. It was enlarged in 1914 by the Weickhardt Co. in Milwaukee and enlarged again by Peters & Weiland in 1998.
SATURDAY’S ACTIVITIES DURING DOORS OPEN
Saturday’s activities: (Tours & Art Gallery on display throughout the day) 10 a.m. — Coffee served in the café; 10:15 a.m. — Gospel Choir concert in the sanctuary; 11 a.m. — Pipe organ & cello recital; 11:30-1:00 pm —Lunch served in the café; 1 p.m. — John Gurda lecture on “The History of Brewers Hill” in the sanctuary; 2 p.m. — Joyful Noise Choir concert in the sanctuary; 2:45 p.m. — Rev. Mark Jeske lecture: The art of Heinrich Hofmann and the stained glass of St. Marcus; 4 p.m. — Pipe organ recital

the factory

The Factory

If you have a Doors Open Milwaukee t-shirt from past years, it was printed here! And if you don’t, there is a fantastic new shirt for Doors Open Milwaukee 2015: http://www.doorsopenmilwaukee.org/t-shirts-and-merchandise/

… also printed here!

Come see where the magic happens. This beautiful, old factory building was built in 1894 as the National Straw Works Company. The company’s main function was producing straw hats. The building has three-phase grounded B electricity, which was invented in WWII —  which is usually seen only in the rust belt.

This solid, old building full of wood floors and thick beams now houses a bevy of skilled craftsmen and women: from artists to woodworkers, musicians to upholsterers and printers. Not generally open to the public, come take a peek inside at all of the action during Doors Open Milwaukee. Tours are self-guided.

If you have a Doors Open Milwaukee t-shirt from past years, it was printed here! And if you don’t, there is a fantastic new shirt for Doors Open Milwaukee 2015: http://www.doorsopenmilwaukee.org/t-shirts-and-merchandise/
Come see where the magic happens. This beautiful, old factory building was built in 1894 as National Straw Works Company, which main product was producing straw hats. The building has three-phase grounded B electricity, which was invented in WWII and usually seen only in the rust belt. This solid, old building full of wood floors and thick beams now houses a bevy of skilled craftsmen and women: from artists to woodworkers, musicians to upholsterers and printers. Not generally open to the public, come take a peek inside at all of the action during Doors Open Milwaukee. Tours are self-guided.

war memorial center

War Memorial Center

The War Memorial Center is the stunning architectural achievement of renowned Finnish American architect Eero Saarinen. It stands as southeast Wisconsin’s most visible tribute to those who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces. Saarinen is now considered one of the masters of American 20th century architecture. His other famous works include the St. Louis Arch, the TWA Terminal at JFK Airport and Dulles International Airport. When the War Memorial Center opened to the public on Veterans Day of 1957, Saarinen’s innovative design won international praise for its dramatic use of concrete, steel and glass creating what Time magazine called “one of the country’s finest examples of modern architecture put to work for civic purposes.”

The WMC750 just completed a major renovation of Veterans Courtyard this year. “Operation Renew” raised $1.5 million to enhance and restore the courtyard which leads to an expanded plaza that takes you closer to Lake Michigan than ever before. New courtyard features include the Ring of Honor, a new eternal flame and waterfall, and new names added to the Honor Roll of Milwaukee County veterans killed in action.

Visitors will see the new WMC Mobile Tour brought to life with guides, historians and veterans leading tours every 30 minutes. Come touch a steel beam from the World Trade Center destroyed on 9/11. Hear the story of how the beam came to Milwaukee. Reenactors, face painters, and bagpipers will be on hand as kids discover the War Memorial on a “history hunt.” See our Wooden Military Figure Collection, a fascinating look at the evolution of the United States military. See our extensive War Poster Collection, an incredible collection of original American, British and French WWI and WWII posters. Rarely seen archive materials of the building of the War Memorial will also be on display. We can’t wait to show you around Milwaukee County’s War Memorial.

The War Memorial Center is the stunning architectural achievement of renowned Finnish American architect Eero Saarinen. It stands as southeast Wisconsin’s most visible tribute to those who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces.
Visitors will see the new WMC Mobile Tour brought to life with guides, historians and veterans leading tours every 30 minutes. Come touch a steel beam from the World Trade Center destroyed on 9/11. Hear the story of how the beam came to Milwaukee. Reenactors, face painters, and bagpipers will be on hand as kids discover the War Memorial on a “history hunt.” See our Wooden Military Figure Collection, a fascinating look at the evolution of the United States military. See our extensive War Poster Collection, an incredible collection of original American, British and French WWI and WWII posters. Rarely seen archive materials of the building of the War Memorial will also be on display. We can’t wait to show you around Milwaukee County’s War Memorial.

cream city clay

Cream City Clay

Cream City Clay, Inc. Pottery School and Studio is located in the heart of downtown West Allis on the corner of 71st Street and Greenfield Avenue, one block from Allis Chalmers. Located within a beautiful red brick building constructed in 1904, it was originally built with cream city bricks and used for retail. This wide open space is now home to aspiring artists, seasoned potters and local art teachers. Classes that utilize the potter’s wheel, hand-building techniques, glaze formulation, kiln firing, children’s clay camps and specialty workshops by professional artists are offered. The front gallery contains work from local artists as well as our very own teachers and members. Learn more about the history of clay in Milwaukee and how it became known as the Cream City as you tour Cream City Clay, Inc.

On Saturday — view an ongoing class in session 10am – Noon. Then Noon to 5pm professional potters will be working on the wheel. On Sunday, free of charge — create rosettes, tiles of flowers inspired by Milwaukee’s copious terracotta buildings and bring the past into your hands. Tiles are hand-pressed from plaster molds. Demonstrations are from expert terracotta historian Ben Tyjeski. Rosette tiles will be installed locally for everyone to admire. Two rosettes will be donated to a silent auction to raise money for charity.

Cream City Clay, Inc. Pottery School and Studio is located in the heart of downtown West Allis on the corner of 71st Street and Greenfield Avenue, one block from Allis Chalmers. Located within a beautiful red brick building constructed in 1904, it was originally built with cream city bricks and used for retail. This wide open space is now home to aspiring artists, seasoned potters and local art teachers. Learn more about the history of clay in Milwaukee and how it became known as the Cream City as you tour Cream City Clay, Inc. On Saturday — view an ongoing class in session 10am – Noon. Then Noon to 5pm professional potters will be working on the wheel. On Sunday, free of charge — create rosettes, tiles of flowers inspired by Milwaukee’s copious terracotta buildings and bring the past into your hands. Tiles are hand-pressed from plaster molds. Demonstrations are from expert terracotta historian Ben Tyjeski. Rosette tiles will be installed locally for everyone to admire. Two rosettes will be donated to a silent auction to raise money for charity.

March 26, 2012 Photographs from Riverworks Lofts, a former macaroni factory in Milwaukee's Riverwest neighborhood is being converted into 36 apartments.  Here an exterior view of the apartments. MICHAEL SEARS/MSEARS@JOURNALSENTINEL.COM

Riverworks Lofts

The building was erected in 1915 by brothers William and John Tharinger for the Tharinger Macaroni Factory. Groundbreaking for reuse construction began in June 2011 with completion in April of 2012.

 

Co-developed by Riverworks Development Corporation and Horizon Development Group, their plan was to renovate the building into workforce housing with WHEDA’s Affordable Housing Tax Credits, Housing Trust Funds and HOME funding. The renovation of an obsolete industrial building into housing has been a great asset to the neighborhood.
Built in 1915, the building located at 3372 N. Holton Street has a rich history from an award winning pasta factory to a reuse housing development project spurred by Riverworks Development Corporation. Currently the Riverworks Lofts has 36 affordable housing loft style apartments with modern appliances, a great club and exercise room and underground parking. Historical memorabilia and photos will be on display from the Tharinger Macaroni Factory days, as well as pictures showing the reconstruction into the Riverworks Lofts of today. The Club Room and an apartment will be available for viewing.

The building was erected in 1915 by brothers William and John Tharinger for the Tharinger Macaroni Factory. Groundbreaking for reuse construction began in June 2011 with completion in April of 2012. Built in 1915, the building located at 3372 N. Holton Street has a rich history from an award winning pasta factory to a reuse housing development project spurred by Riverworks Development Corporation. Currently the Riverworks Lofts has 36 affordable housing loft style apartments with modern appliances, a great club and exercise room and underground parking. Historical memorabilia and photos will be on display from the Tharinger Macaroni Factory days, as well as pictures showing the reconstruction into the Riverworks Lofts of today. The Club Room and an apartment will be available for viewing.

airport

General Mitchell International Airport / Mitchell Gallery of Flight

Named in honor of Milwaukee-native General William “Billy” Mitchell, the namesake of Milwaukee’s airport, the Mitchell Gallery of Flight is a 1,400 square foot museum opened in March, 1988 and located on the north concession level of General Mitchell International Airport, near the entrance to the C concourse. The Mitchell Gallery exhibits both permanent and periodically changing displays covering local aviation personalities and aerospace history, with an emphasis on southeast Wisconsin. The Gallery features a collection of artifacts detailing General Mitchell’s history as the father of the United States Air Force.

Visitors will not only be able to view the museum, which is open daily to the public, but also the adjacent rooms that contain additional exhibits and artifacts related to Medal of Honor recipient Capt. Lance Sijan and astronaut Capt. James A. Lovell, USN. Additionally, selected items from the Mitchell Gallery’s archives will be displayed. Park in the Hourly section of the parking garage, and take the skywalk into the concession mall. The museum is located pre-security between Concourses C and D.

Named in honor of Milwaukee-native General William “Billy” Mitchell, the namesake of Milwaukee’s airport, the Mitchell Gallery of Flight is a 1,400 square foot museum opened in March, 1988 and located on the north concession level of General Mitchell International Airport, near the entrance to the C concourse. The Mitchell Gallery exhibits both permanent and periodically changing displays covering local aviation personalities and aerospace history, with an emphasis on southeast Wisconsin. The Gallery features a collection of artifacts detailing General Mitchell’s history as the father of the United States Air Force. Visitors will not only be able to view the museum, which is open daily to the public, but also the adjacent rooms that contain additional exhibits and artifacts related to Medal of Honor recipient Capt. Lance Sijan and astronaut Capt. James A. Lovell, USN. Additionally, selected items from the Mitchell Gallery’s archives will be displayed. Park in the Hourly section of the parking garage, and take the skywalk into the concession mall. The museum is located pre-security between Concourses C and D.